Opinions Uncensored

ADNAN JANUZAJ AND THE STATE OF ENGLISH FOOTBALL

Image

Last night marked the unveiling of my stance towards the recent debate about whether or not England should include Adnan Januzaj in the national team should it become a realistic possibility in the future. In a completely spontaneous and unrelenting attack on my keyboard, I took to Twitter to unleash this unique, original, and extremely truthful opinion onto the world (the epitome of modesty). This article is short, yes, due to it being, as I previously mentioned, an uncensored Twitter rant but due to my kind hearted, philanthropic nature, I thought of those unfortunate people who do not follow the Twitter counterpart of this blog and have decided to share it with you all accordingly. I hope you enjoy it and that it even ruffles a few of your feathers.

Image

The following took place between 00:15 and 00:30 – UK time – on 10/10/2013 and appeared on Twitter exactly as follows, word for word when inside quotation marks (pictures added for aesthetic effect of course).

Image

“All of this Januzaj business is really a way of uncovering how little we think of ourselves as a footballing nation. Belgium, despite their incredible squad of players at this time, would never have been considered an equal, certainly not [a] better team than England in the past. My point is that the fact we are getting so worked up about potentially ‘signing up’ a player who until his two goals the other day, no one can [gave] a flying f*** about.”

Image

(screenshot taken from http://www.11v11.com/teams/england/tab/opposingTeams/opposition/Belgium)

“I had seen him preseason and he looked good, proved he could turn out decent in the future, but all in all, if we are pinning our hopes on a player that hopefully isn’t good enough for the Belgium team, I think that speaks volumes for the direction our national team is taking. And that is down. We moan about foreign players coming into the BPL and restricting the development and opportunity of our domestic players. Yet all this Januzaj malarkey is telling me is that its alright as long as we get them in young enough. If people step back and take a look at both [of] these recent talking points, its clear to see why we are apparently in decline as a footballing nation. Those at the top are so beyond hypocritical its almost funny. They need to decide and quickly, whether we want to encourage grass roots football or just simply take players from other countries at a young enough age to give us even the slightest chance of putting together a competitive XI.”

Image

This screen shot comes from – http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2337156/Roy-Hodgson-David-Bernstein-want-English-talent-given-chance-Premier-League.html – but accentuates my argument made on Twitter when comparing it to the screenshot immediately below. 

Image

This snippet was taken from – http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24416142 – and highlights how fickle English football seems to be at the moment. Again, the fact this comes from the same person, with only 3 months between them, makes the situation even more laughable. 

“Again, this all highlights the comical state our football unfortunately finds itself in. And even more unfortunate is that fact that until someone makes a decision on the direction we wish to take, I am afraid not only will these desperate claims to foreign players continue, but we will stay in this ridiculous situation for the remainder of the foreseeable future. Its time to grow a pair and relight the flame of English football, Belgians or no Belgians lets just hurry up and f****** decide.”

Image

Caption competition for this picture relating to the argument I’ve made? Comment below if you fancy it.

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I believe that if England were to attract Adnan it would be amazing for their national team, I do believe in investing in grass roots football, however when you see a talent as amazing as Adnan at such a young age, why wouldn’t you want to attain his footballing abilities, this young man is the future of Man United football and I believe he could also be the future for the England FA.

    Like

  2. cianmct123, I completely agree that Januzaj could well become a Manchester United great, and from what I have seen of him already, he seems a marvellous player. But this is not the point. International football cannot and should not become like the club game. You said that because of his talent we should acquire his services but to me, if that is to be our attitude to the national team then we risk turning into a franchise rather than a nation. Furthermore, Januzaj himself should not in my opinion accept our potential offer as he was born in Januzaj and spent his childhood there. For me they can be no greater feeling than representing your country and if Januzaj were to play for England I just don’t see it meaning as much to him. Adopted nationalities should not be a cop out for players to play for a better national team or fast track their entry into the international scene. If i were Januzaj and Belgium didn’t end up picking me, rather than choosing the easy option and playing for a team that seem to be desperate for my services (England) I would do everything in my power to play for Belgium and prove to my country that I am good enough to represent the country on a global stage, because as I said, there is no greater honour in sport.

    Like

  3. Up until recent years I cared passionately about our national team. These days, for some subliminal reason I suppose, I care more that Arsenal succeeds than England. This affliction only affects football! In all other sports it’s England all the way. There must, I guess, be many more like me? Regardless, a net result of not bothering too much about England as opposed to the Gunners is that I have no opinion on this matter that I once would have been ranting about. Is there a cure?
    That said – your post was excellent!

    Like

    • I’m exactly the same on that front my friend. I think most people today greet the international break with a massive sigh or groan rather than genuine excitement and I’m not entirely sure of the reason why. Perhaps it is because club football is such a massive part of the footballing calendar and we see the international break as just that, a break from what we love most. I also think it’s the brand of football that England have displayed recently that has lost many supporters and also the level of competition. When the competitions actually start people get excited but when we are playing for draws away from home or battling for qualification against Montengro, I think an extremely pessimistic attitude has crept into each and everyone one of us due to the fact we perhaps are expecting too much. That said, I would rather expect too much than reach these expectations through means of turning the national team into a franchise. The national team can only restore our pride in it through good, committed performances yet it seems they reserve these types of displays for the club teams we all follow and love. I think we are on the edge of a dramatic decline in our national team and as I have said before, even if Januzaj did become a Ballon D’Or winner in the future, I don’t think he is the answer to restoring the joy and excitement you used to feel when the national team came together. Sorry for the long winded response, I suppose I have a lot to say, but one last thing I need to say is thank you very much for your kind words.

      Like

      • Thank you for bothering to reply – appreciated. Thinking on, insofar as the England football side are concerned they are, I think, perhaps the only national side of any of the various sports I follow, where the 11 players on the pitch are no where near as good as the equivalent 11 from a top club team. In short, our national team wouldn’t – most likely – finish in the top half of the Premiership, whereas our rugby team, on balance, is better than any of our club sides – hence my interest grows when the 6 nations kicks off. If England up their game at football I believe that would inspire me more and not – like today – end up feeling pleased that Jack will probably be left out of the side tonight – I’m pleased because that means he won’t get injured of course!

        Like

      • No worries at all, as you may have seen I don’t receive many comments, so I’m eager to reply when someone takes the time. But again I agree entirely. My example would probably be cricket whereas you referred to rugby. I have never seen a packed out ground during a county cricket 4 day test match, yet when the ashes comes to town, or even another international team visits, acquiring tickets for these matches is nigh on impossible!
        That point you make however probably lends itself to limiting the number of foreigners that play in the BPL. Although I think this would mean a huge decline in the standard of our domestic league, I can see it being the only possible way of inverting the current footballing climate. If the league were to have more domestic players, it’s quality would drop and thus when, as you said, the national team comes together, excitement may build due to the fact they ‘should’ be providing a better spectacle than on a Saturday afternoon. This being said, there is no way I want this to happen. I am a fan of football and revel in the fact we are able to see the best players in the world every week, and certainly do not want to see this changed. Therefore, I am far from envious of the position the FA finds itself in as it seems no solution to this problem brings all positives. I guess we’ll have to wait and see which way we go. Better league? Or live with a relatively average national side.

        Like

What do you think?

